Skip to main content
Jun 07, 2018

CIRI 2018: Award winners and board changes

CIRI’s awards for excellence and leadership in IR presented during group’s AGM in Toronto

Pat Marshall and Megan Hjulfors were both recognized with CIRI awards at this year’s annual conference, where Denis Jasmin was elected as the new board chair.

Marshall, who has just retired as Cineplex’s vice president of communications and investor relations, was the recipient of the award for excellence in investor relations. This comes one year after she won the lifetime achievement award at the IR Magazine Awards – Canada 2017. Marshall has more than 25 years of experience in the film distribution industry and has been an active member of CIRI, including serving as a board director.

‘IROs are some of the most hard-working, multi-tasking, pump-it-out people I’ve ever met,’ she said in her CIRI award acceptance speech. ‘To be included in such a distinguished and esteemed group [of winners], all of whom were pioneers and trailblazers in IR, is hard for me to grasp.’

Hjulfors, senior analyst in investor relations at MEG Energy Corp, was presented with the Belle Mulligan Award for leadership in investor relations. She has been influential in experimenting with social media, new technologies and encouraging continuous improvement in financial disclosures, according to a CIRI press release. Prior to her current role, Hjulfors was part of the ARC Resources IR team that has been so successful in recent years at the IR Magazine Awards – Canada.

‘It is a great honor to receive this award,’ Hjulfors says in a release. ‘I would like to express my gratitude both to CIRI and the selection committee.’

During the award presentation, CIRI recognized the three new inductees to its fellows program. Marshall was once again invited to the stage as an inductee, and was joined by Roberto Sbrugnera, vice president of treasury, risk and investor relations at Metro, and Tom Enright, former CEO and president of CIRI and of CNW Group.

Board changes

CIRI also presented its new board leadership and members during the conference. Denis Jasmin, vice president of investor relations at SNC-Lavalin, has been elected as chair of the CIRI board for a two-year term. He succeeds Brian Ector, senior vice president of capital markets and public affairs at Baytex Energy.

CIRI’s new board members are:

  • Gregory Dilworth, vice president of investor relations, Sun Life Financial
  • Monica Hamm, vice president of IR, Zinc One Resources and Silver One Resources
  • Carol Hansell, founding partner, Hansell.

They replace the following board members who will be stepping down, having served their term:

  • Chaya Cooperberg, chief communications officer and senior vice president of corporate affairs, AmTrust Financial Services
  • Sandra Daycock, director of corporate development, Methanex Corporation
  • Elisa Schupp, vice president of channels & strategic sales, Cision Canada.

Ben Ashwell

Ben Ashwell was the editor at IR Magazine and Corporate Secretary , covering investor relations, governance, risk and compliance. Prior to this, he was the founder and editor of Executive Talent , the global quarterly magazine from the Association of...